Steering Committee

The Steering Committee meets quarterly to discuss the work of the Office. The committee is composed of a representative group of people involved in the management and support of people affected by rare conditions.

Steering Committee Members Area

Professor Faisal Ahmed Professor of Child Health, University of Glasgow
Professor Julie Brittenden Director of Research and Innovation, GGC R&D, NHS GGC
Stephen Bowhay Lead Clinical Pharmacist – Hospital Paediatrics, Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
Adam Kelly  Glasgow Children’s Hospital Charity, Head of Trusts & Hospital Programmes
Natalie Frankish  Policy and Engagement Manager for Scotland, Genetic Alliance UK
Dr. Alan Mathers Chief of Medicine, Women’s & Children’s Services, NHS GGC
Melanie HuttonGeneral Manager, Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
Mandy MeechanChief Nurse, Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
Arlene Smyth  Chairperson of the Office Patient Advisory Group and Executive Officer for Turner Syndrome Support Society UK
Professor Sameer Zuberi Consultant Paediatric Neurologist, ScotCRN, R&D, ERN, NHS GGC
Dr. Ruth McGowan Consultant in Clinical Genetics and Lead Clinician for The Scottish DSD Network
Janice HeggieLead Nurse for Neonates, NHS GGC
Diane KingLead Nurse  – CNS Teams Clinical Nurse Specialist (Renal Transplant)
Dr. Martina RodieClinical Lead, Office for Rare Conditions, Consultant Neonatologist Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow
Liz DouganProject Manager, Office for Rare Conditions
Shannon MullenAdministrator, Office for Rare Conditions