Steering Committee

The Steering Committee meets quarterly to discuss the work of the Office. The committee is composed of a representative group of people involved in the management and support of people affected by rare conditions.


Stephen Bowhay, Lead Clinical Pharmacist, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Professor Julie Brittenden, Research & Development Director, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital

Shona Cardle, Chief Executive, Glasgow Children’s Hospital Charity

Paul Connor, Policy & Health Economics Manager, Kyowa Kirin

Natalie Frankish, Policy & Engagement Officer for Scotland, Genetic Alliance UK

Dr Iain Horrocks, Consultant Paediatric Neurologist, Royal Hospital for Children

Grace Macleod, Specialist Nurse, Clinical Genetics, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital

Dr Alan Mathers, Associate Medical Director, Women & Children’s Directorate, Royal Hospital for Children

Steve & Alison Reid-Timoney, Reid-Timoney Charitable Foundation

Dr Peter Robinson, Consultant Paediatrician in Metabolic Medicine, Royal Hospital for Children

Arlene Smyth, Executive Officer, Turner Syndrome Support Society

Professor Sameer Zuberi, EpiCare Representative, ScotCRN lead for West of Scotland